Easy Google Profit Scam

One of my simple tests for fraud is this: when a website offering a business opportunity gets more attention than the FTC's site, the business opportunity is very likely a fraud.
This particular scheme, also known as "Google Easy Profit" uses a number of different websites:
miamigazettenews .com The Miami Gazette News.
nyguardian .com (New York Guardian)
theatlantatribune .com (The Atlanta Tribune)
detroittribunenews .com/homejobs (Detroit Tribune News)
detroittribunenews .com/myspace-jobs (Myspace Job Scam)
philadelphia-herald .com (Philadelphia Herald News)
fresh-off-the-press .com/featured/jobs-working-online-home-gold-rush/
to pitch a long news like description of something called "Google Easy Profit".
The FTC just shut down a similar scheme, relying only on Section 5 of the FTC Act, on July 1st, 2009.
The FTC brought an action against Google Money Tree, alleging that:
its principals, and related entities allegedly misrepresented that they were affiliated with Google and lured consumers into divulging their financial account information by advertising a low-cost kit that they said would enable consumers to earn $100,000 in six months. They then failed to adequately disclose that the fee for the kit would trigger monthly charges of $72.21.
There are some similarities, and some differences between Google Money Tree and Google Easy Profit
There is the same 7 day trial period, and if you don't opt out in time, you will be charged approximately $80.00 on ongoing monthly basis;
The ads which lead you to the website have unjustified earnings claims, $4800 a week for part time work.
It is likely that the same abuse of the electronic payment system is going on because the company doesn't have a written pre-authorization for each monthly debit or charge.
The company states that it is not affiliated with Google, though why Google allows them to run these deceptive ads is beyond my comprehension.
There is the traditional disclaimer about earnings - earnings are not representative and the company suggests that you talk with a professional before purchasing their package.
There is no doubt that Easy Google Profit is a scam: see Google's own help page
From a legal perspective, the case against Google Money Tree is instructive.
The FTC simply asserted under Section 5(a) of the FTC Act that Google Money tree had engaged in deceptive marketing practices:
failing to disclose the material terms, that is the monthly fees;
making deceptive earnings claims;
and failing to disclose that they had no affiliation with Google.
My sense is that these allegations may be harder to prove against Easy Google Profit, and that the FTC may simply rely upon the Business Opportunity Rule, which requires that Easy Google Profit have a disclosure statement.
If this happens, all affiliate marketers who sell opportunities with earnings claims are going to have to be very careful and make sure that they have a disclosure statement and are complaint with all the US Business Opportunity laws.
(Aaron Wall, of SEO Book, has a scathing overview of Google Easy Money and Google's involvement.)

![Reblog this post [with Zemanta]](http://img.zemanta.com/reblog_e.png?x-id=e4f09f9c-6c84-4e56-8a7d-a3a1dbddc0be)
Comments
If anyone knows of a class action suit to sign onto let me know. The Google In Biz scam has given my card to pay a bunch of different things. She also never received the confirmation email. My daughter used my card to sign up and she is under 18 years old and they say in the Privacy policy tht under 18s are not allowed to use the site - but the info is buried in the policy and not obvious to begin with. I don't know how to do a charge back with the bank - any advice?
Another question: why doesn't Google stop these companies from using their name and making it sound like it is Google. After all of ths I don't really trust Google anymore and may just stop using tht browser altogether. Shows how when corporations get too big and successful they forget their roots and become cocky - don't care about their reputation either.
Posted by: Heidi | November 7, 2009 11:31 PM
I was scammed by this people, called to cancel and the had the audacity to even give a cancelation number. Then charged me again. Filed a complaint with the bank and they're reimbursing me all three charges.
Posted by: Amy | October 18, 2009 10:51 PM
I also fell for this scam; however, there is hope. When I received my bank statement and noticed the charges, I immediately called the company (number listed in prior comment)and cancelled my "account" after a run-around with a woman who could barely speak English. I then cancelled my debit card and began a dispute through my bank against the charges. Finally, I filed an electronic complaint with the Better Business Bureau of Florida. The BBB holds a lot of clout. My money was refunded the same day. I too thought I would never fall for something such as this, but I was lying on the ground on this one. Give the BBB a try though. It worked for me. Good luck to everyone these jerks have ripped off.
Posted by: Jules | September 8, 2009 8:04 PM
Do a chargeback and keep fighting with Visa.
Posted by: bizop
|
September 1, 2009 6:49 PM
I,too, was scammed to the tune of $99.92.I did fall for the $1.97charge. I called the 800 number, waited an interminable time and finally got Adrian, who said the charges would be refunded. I have yet to see a credit on my visa card for the amts. of $69.97 and $29.95 I filed a complaint with my visa account, and do not think that will accomplish anything.
Posted by: Brandy | September 1, 2009 9:21 AM
I have just discovered a charge for $69.97 on my online bank statement from VBL*FunWebProfits. I googled it to find out what it is and it seems that it is associated with people seeking employment. The problem is, I haven't accessed one of these sites, much less given out my credit/bank card info to them. Any idea how they would have gotten it and will my bank credit my account the money that was charged for the scam?
Posted by: LeAnne | August 23, 2009 6:34 PM
I called the number on my cc bill 877-994-4164. after threatening to contact the better business bureau they agreed to refund the$69.97, and to cancel the program. To get my $1.97 back I was told to mail my request to the corporate headquarters located:
Reimbursement Department
13799 Park Blvd North
Suite 330
Seminole, FL 33776
I am still submitting a fraud report to the BBB.
Posted by: Elizabeth Ann Link | August 20, 2009 5:10 PM
I was scammed also they just took money out of my account that I did not approve.now I don't know how to contact.help!
Posted by: Donna Wise | August 19, 2009 8:44 AM
I never looked into there website and received a bank statement stating I was charged $62.68 with an overdraft fee of $34.97; this is ridicules when your unemployed because of the economy and someone gets into your bank account without any authority...what now???
Posted by: Gabriel Vasquez | August 15, 2009 12:56 PM
I never looked into there website and received a bank statement stating I was charged $62.68 with an overdraft fee of $34.97; this is ridicules when your unemployed because of the economy and someone gets into your bank account without any authority...what now???
Posted by: Gabriel Vasquez | August 15, 2009 12:55 PM
You will have to institute a "chargeback" with your credit card company, simply cancelling your card will not work
Posted by: bizop
|
August 11, 2009 2:29 PM
I just approved Easy Google profit for $1.97 I think it was to send me info only. I just looked on my bank statement & they took $69.97 off my card that I didn't approve. It said it was for VBL Fun Web Profits. It gave a phone # 877-402-2666. Any ideas of how to get my money back? I can't believe this is happening to me. I just got layed off from my job and can't afford this.
Posted by: Linda Buehler | August 8, 2009 3:18 AM
I was scammed by this company they took money out of our account and we had our house payment comming out of the account and would have not been covered due to this it was a hectic time. I did a search for Pennslyvania online jobs and it brought it up there. The name was easy google profit. The name money was taken out VBL. *fun Web Profits FL.
Posted by: Rickey Duck | August 7, 2009 9:32 AM